• Hearings on Governor's Nominations

Hearings on Governor's Nominations
Legislative committees will hold public hearings as listed below for the purpose of considering nominations by the Governor for appointment to positions that require review by joint standing committees and to confirmation by the Legislature. You may testify at the public hearing or submit written testimony. Written testimony must be received by 9 am the day of the hearing and should be sent to: Legislative Information Office, 100 SHS, Augusta, Maine 04333-0100. Persons with special needs who wish to attend a Legislative hearing and require accommodations should notify the Legislative Information Office as soon as possible: 207-287-1692, TTY 207-287-6826, FAX 207-287-1580, webmaster_lio@legislature.maine.gov.

Senator Paul T. Davis, Sr., Senate Chair, Representative Michelle Ann Dunphy, House Chair
Public Hearing: Tuesday, February 28, 2017, 1:00 PM, Cross Building, Room 214
Nominee: William W. McFarland of South China to the State Harness Racing Commission
The State Harness Racing Commission (8 MRSA §261-A) comprises 5 members who serve 3-year terms. The members must be appointed in such a manner as to provide broad geographic representation. The Commission is responsible for contracting for the services of qualified persons to serve as presiding and associate track judges as necessary to provide adequate policing and enforcement; for adopting rules for the holding, conducting and operating of all harness horse races or meets for public exhibition held in Maine, and for the operation of racetracks on which any such race or meet is held; and for contracting with or employing persons it deems necessary to carry out these responsibilities. A more detailed description of the Commission can be found at http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/8/title8sec261-A.html
CONTACT: Rebecca Harvey, 287-1312
Senator Lisa Keim, Senate Chair, Representative Matthew W. Moonen, House Chair
Public Hearing: Tuesday, February 28, 2017, 1:00 PM, State House, Room 438
Nominee: Arnold S. Clark, Esq. of Calais to the Maine Human Rights Commission
The Maine Human Rights Commission is an independent commission comprised of 5 members who are appointed by the Governor. No more than 3 of the members may be of the same political party. Commission members are appointed for 5-year terms. The Commission is responsible for investigating and recommending remedies for all conditions and practices within the State which "allegedly detract from the enjoyment, by each inhabitant of the State, of full human rights and personal dignity." A more detailed description of the Commission can be found at http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch337sec0.html
CONTACT: Susan Pinette, 287-1327
Senator Amy F. Volk, Senate Chair, Representative Ryan M. Fecteau, House Chair
Public Hearing: Tuesday, February 28, 2017, 1:00 PM, Cross Building, Room 208
Nominees: John G. Peters of Harpswell; John Moncure of Harpswell to the Midcoast Regional Redevelopment Authority
The Authority was created to acquire and manage the properties within the geographic boundaries of Brunswick Naval Air Station. Governed by an 11 member board, the authority is a public municipal corporation and may exercise all powers of corporations. Members serve 4-year terms. A more detailed description of the Authority can be found at http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5sec13083-I.html
CONTACT: Diane Steward, 287-1331
Senator Paul T. Davis, Sr., Senate Chair, Representative Danny Martin, House Chair
Public Hearing: Wednesday, March 01, 2017, 9:00 AM, Cross Building, Room 214
Nominee: Daniel V. Deveau of Augusta as the Maine-Canada Trade Ombudsman
The Office of the Maine-Canada Trade Ombudsman is established within the Executive Department and is autonomous from any other state agency. The Governor shall appoint an ombudsman to head the Office of the Maine-Canada Trade Ombudsman, subject to review by the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over state and local government matters and confirmation by the Senate. The ombudsman must be chosen without reference to party affiliation and solely on the ground of professional competence to perform the duties of that office. The ombudsman holds office for a term of 4 years. An ombudsman may be reappointed. The compensation of the ombudsman is fixed by the Governor. The ombudsman the duties and powers established under the following provisions governing trade between businesses in this State and individuals, businesses and governmental entities in Canada. 5 M.R.S.A. § 263. A more detailed description of the ombudsman can be found at http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch12-A.pdf.
CONTACT: Rebecca Harvey, 287-1330
This ad has been viewed 10 times
PostedFebruary 17, 2017

Contact the advertiser

Send me a copy